Sawston Men's Hockey Club Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 6th May 1997 The King's Head, Sawston

- 1. Those present: Mike Gronow, Roy Todd, Kevin Pride, Tom Maynard, Peter Mercer, Noel Sutcliffe, Mick Beasley, Ken Sharpe, Roger Craigen, Stephen Fleck
- 2. Apologies were received from: Andy Lewis, Richard Bettison, John Parker, Rob Sprawson, Malcolm Taylor, Colin Warboys and Matt Murray.
- 3. The Minutes of the 1996 AGM were read and accepted, with no matters arising.

4. Highlights of Reports

Fixture Secretary: Colin Warboys reported, *in absentia*, that most fixtures had worked out well this season, and next season's fixtures were largely arranged.

Treasurer:	Kevin Pride reported that the club had made a healthy profit this season (£690.75 to date and likely to rise to £752). Last year the estimated loss of £269 was actually reduced to £25. Pitch hire costs had increased this season due to switching from Spicers grass pitch to the Perse School astroturf, but this was offset by higher match profits and reduced expenses. The club holds a balance of £2,347 on deposit.

- 1st XI: Ken Sharpe reported on a great league season W10, D3, L5, finishing 3rd in the division, and gaining promotion to Div 5NW. The first time ever Sawston has been promoted......probably. Player of the Year = Rob Sprawson.
- 2nd XI: The first half of the season was somewhat hit-and-miss (mainly miss). But after Christmas the side took off, and moved from 3rd from bottom to just missing promotion. Player of the Year = Jonathan Taylor. Andy Lewis was mentioned for being the highest goal-scorer, and goal-misser, of the season.
- Wrinklies: Mike Gronow's Veterans side had their best season ever, helped by the return of the Haverhill mafia, Chris and Dave, but aided and aBettisoned by stalwarts Richard and Roger. Team stats = P24, W15, D5, L4, GF52, GA20! Roy Todd was deservedly voted Player of the Year, and special mentions went to Noel Sutcliffe and Peter Mercer for blowing the whistle.

5. Matters arising from the Reports - none

6. Season 1997-98

Pitches:	1sts and 2nds to remain at the Perse School - Colin Warboys to confirm slot. Linton Village College pitches are in very poor condition. Mike Gronow/Tom Maynard to find 'expert' groundsman for recommendations and estimate.
Training:	Remain at Leys School, same slot - Stephen Fleck to book. Duncan Woods to be employed to coach every other week until Christmas. Share pitch, but not training, with Sawston Ladies.
Subs:	Same as 1996-97
Match Fees:	Same as 1996-97
Teas:	Same as 1996-97
Umpires:	1 st XI will need to provide a Level 1 umpire for all league games. Hopefully Paul Tomson will be umpiring regularly. Mick Beasley and Matt Murray to complete

Level One qualification over summer. Kevin Pride will help out in emergencies, but Peter Mercer will only umpire Veterans games.

7. Election of Officers

El Presidento:	Peter Mercer (same as 1996-97)
Lifers:	Frank Allen, Eric Jacobs, Richard Jacobs, Harry Rider, Keith
	Westley (same as 1996-97)
Vice Squad:	Paul Tomson, Noel Sutcliffe (Karen Walker deleted)
Mr. Fix-it:	Colin Warboys (same as 1996-97)
Mr Moneybags:	Kevin Pride (same as 1996-97)
Club Typist:	Stephen Fleck (same as 1996-97)
Club Chair:	Roger Craigen (same as 1996-97)
1 st XI Kommandant:	Ken Sharpe (same as 1996-97)
1 st XI Right-hand 'man':	Mick Beasley (same as 1996-97)
2 nd XI Leader of the Pack:	Peter Carey (voted in absentia)
2 nd XI Real Leader of the Pack:	Keith Simpson (voted in absentia)
Veterans HC & BW:	Mike Gronow (same as 1996-97)
League Pacifier:	Mick Beasley (same as 1996-97)
Mr. Motivator:	Ken Sharpe (same as 1996-97)
Gutter Press Officer:	Matt Murray (same as 1996-97)
Recruitment & P.R.:	Ken Sharpe

8. Any Other Business

First Aid Kits: Shirts:	Each team should have one. Roger Craigen to purchase. 2^{nd} XI to use old 1^{st} XI hand-me-downs. Stephen Fleck to give set to Peter
	Carey.
Posters:	Each AGM attendee + committee members to be given 2 posters each for display (libraries, sport and leisure centres, pubs, etc.). Mick/Stephen to sort.
Club Dinner:	Votes of thanks were given to Mick Beasley and Stephen Fleck, for organising a great end-of-season dinner at the Arundel House hotel. The club trophies were presented at the dinner, including the Clubman of the Year award, which was presented to Ken Sharpe.

S G Fleck